Detaching a Document Vault

You can detach a document vault from the server connection, in which case the vault data is not destroyed but kept on the hard drive of the server computer. A document vault that has been detached can be attached back to M-Files Server from the hard drive. For more information on attaching a document vault, see Attaching a Document Vault.

When the vault is detached from the server, it is not displayed in the list of available document vaults in M-Files Admin and users cannot access it, but all the data stored in the vault stays intact. You can, for instance, move a detached vault to another server machine and take it back into use by attaching it to the new server.

Do the following steps to detach a document vault:

  1. Open M-Files Admin.
  2. In the left-side tree view, expand a connection to M-Files Server.
  3. Still in the left-side tree view, select Document Vaults.
  4. Select a document vault that you want to detach and click Detach on the task area.
  5. Click Yes at the prompt to confirm your action.
The selected document vault is detached from M-Files Server.