Taking a Vault Offline and Bringing a Vault Online

When you take a document vault offline, M-Files closes the vault. This also closes any open sessions that users may have. Users cannot log in to a document vault that has been taken offline until the vault has been brought back online.

When a vault is taken offline, all vault users are disconnected. If a user checks out a document for editing and makes modifications to the content, during which the vault administrator takes the vault offline, the user is unable to check in the document until the vault is brought back online. It is therefore not recommended to carry out unscheduled operations that require the vault to be taken offline.

Taking a Vault Offline

To take a vault offline:

  1. Open M-Files Admin.
  2. In the left-side tree view, expand a connection to M-Files Server.
  3. Still in the left-side tree view, right-click a vault which is in the online state.
  4. Select Operations > Take Offline.

Bringing a Vault Online

To bring a vault online:

  1. Open M-Files Admin.
  2. In the left-side tree view, expand a connection to M-Files Server.
  3. Still in the left-side tree view, right-click a vault which is in the offline state.
  4. Select Operations > Bring Online.