Destroying a Document Vault

The Destroy function can be used to permanently destroy all data from a document vault.

Warning: When you destroy a vault, the following operations are carried out:
  • All the vault file data on the M-Files server is permanently deleted.
  • The vault database is permanently deleted.

Complete the following steps if you wish to destroy a vault:

  1. Open M-Files Admin.
  2. In the left-side tree view, expand a connection to M-Files Server.
  3. In the left-side tree view, select Document Vaults.
  4. Right-click the document vault that you want to destroy, and then select Operations > Destroy from the context menu.
    Result:You are prompted to make sure that you want to destroy the selected vault.
  5. Click Yes at the prompt.

The selected document vault, including its file data and its database, are permanently deleted and the vault can no longer be accessed by users.

Note: The Destroy function naturally does not affect backups located on the hard drive. The document vault can thus be restored if backups have been made.