Disabling the Comment Dialog for Assignments

By default, users are prompted for comments when they mark an assignment complete in M-Files Desktop. You can modify this behavior by using the custom vault data setting described here.

  1. In M-Files Admin, access the custom vault data section.
    1. Open M-Files Admin.
    2. In the left-side tree view, expand an M-Files server connection.
    3. Expand Document Vaults.
    4. Click Configurations.
    5. In the navigation area, expand Custom Vault Data.
  2. Select Namespace Registry > Configuration.
  3. Expand the Namespaces node, click Add Namespace, and expand the newly added namespace node.
  4. In the Group field, type a suitable group name, such as Assignments.
  5. Use the Storage Type drop-down menu to select the MFConfigurationValue storage.
  6. In the Namespace field, enter the following value: M-Files.Core.Client.Settings
  7. In the Namespace Label field, type a suitable label, such as Assignments.
  8. In the Namespace Description field, enter for example Settings related to assignments.
  9. Click Save to save the namespace settings.
  10. In the gray navigation area, expand Named Values.
  11. Expand the namespace group you just created, then select the namespace node, and finally the Configuration node.
  12. Click Add Named Value, and expand the newly created named value node.
  13. In the Name field, enter the value ShowMarkCompleteUI.
  14. In the Value field, enter a configuration similar to the example below.
    {
    "MFShell":{
        "ShowMarkCompleteUI":<X>
        }
    }
    Change the value of <X> according to how you want the user interface to behave:
    Value of <X> Description
    0 The comment dialog is not shown.
    1 The comment dialog is shown. This is the default behavior.
    2 The comment dialog is shown for assignments when they are marked complete in the task area.
    3 The comment dialog is shown for assignments when they are marked complete via the metadata card.
  15. Click Save to save the configuration.
The new behavior is enabled for users as soon as they have logged out from and logged back in to the vault. You can log out all vault users by restarting the vault, but taking a vault offline should always be done in a controlled manner and the vault users should be notified beforehand.