View-Specific Operations

This topic compiles a list of various, view-specific commands and features.

Using the Clean View, Hide View, and Unhide Views commands

Clean View... is a command that a user logged in to the document vault can perform for any view. It is used for removing temporary local files and all empty folders automatically. To do this, press the Alt key and select View > Clean View... from the menu.

Some views of the M-Files sample vault cannot be removed, but they can be hidden. A regular user cannot remove views that have been created in M-Files Admin. In such cases, you can right-click the view on the listing area and Hide View from the context menu.

To unhide views, press the Alt key and select View > Unhide Views... from the menu.

Tip: You can create a view showing all the deleted objects if you have any of the following permissions: full control of vault, permission to see all objects, or permission to see deleted objects. Just create a view with the filter Deleted = Yes (see Status-Based Conditions).

Saving the display settings of a view as common display settings

M-Files allows you to save the display settings of a view as common display settings. To use this function, you need administrative rights to the relevant vault. The function saves the display settings common to users view-specifically. You can choose whether the function is to be applied for all users or only those users who have not yet modified their own display settings. With the function, you can, for example, define specific columns to be displayed for all users.

To do this, press the Alt key and select View > Save As Common Display Settings... from the menu.

Resetting the display settings to their defaults

By using this function, you can reset modified display setting values to the defaults set by the system administrator. Alternatively, you can reset the display settings to the M-Files software defaults.

To do this, press the Alt key and select View > Reset Display Settings to Defaults... from the menu.

Binding a report to a view

You can bind a report for example to the view Sales by customer or Proposals by salesperson. With the options under View > Reports in the menu bar, you can bind a report to a view and specify its location. If you want this setting to apply for all users, enable the option Common to all users in the view settings. To define a common view, however, you need the permissions for managing the vault's common views.

For more information on reports, see Reporting and Data Export.

Exporting a view

You can export the contents of a view in the same way that you export search results. For instructions, see Exporting search results.

Sharing views

You can share your views with other users in the same vault. You cannot share common views. If you share a subview of a view, the filters of the view will not affect the shared subview.

To share a view, right-click a view and select Share View by Email. To share many views, hold down the Ctrl key and click the views that you want to share. Then right-click a selected view and select Share View by Email.

In both cases, a new email message is opened in your email client.

Note: The email message contains an M-Files shortcut to the view as an attachment. By default, the shortcut expires in 14 days. To change the default expiration time, contact your M-Files administrator.