Checking Out a Document for Co-Authoring

With M-Files, several users can edit a document at the same time. You can check out a document for co-authoring via Microsoft Office for the web when the Microsoft Office for the web tools and co-authoring have been enabled for your vault or vaults.

Note: Refer to this article for the file size limits in Office for the web.

Editing an Office Document in the Co-Authoring Mode

You need to have an Office 365 account and editing permissions to the document you want to edit via co-authoring.

To check out a document for co-authoring:

  1. Locate the object you want to make available for co-authoring in M-Files Desktop or in the classic M-Files Web.
  2. Right-click the document and select Check Out for Co-authoring in the context menu.
    Note: Co-authoring is only available for single-file DOCX, XLSX, XLSM, and PPTX documents.
    Result:In M-Files Desktop, a security warning is opened about who can view and modify the file during co-authoring. If you use the classic M-Files Web, skip to step 4.
  3. In the Security Warning dialog in M-Files Desktop, click Begin Co-authoring.
    Result:The document is opened in Microsoft Office for the web.


    Tip: If you are using Google Chrome and the browser cannot complete loading the editor, check whether the address bar contains an icon informing the user about a blocked redirection. If it does, go ahead and click it, and allow the redirection to be carried out. Finally, close the browser window or tab and double-click the document in M-Files to reopen the editor.
  4. Edit the document in the browser.
    Microsoft Office automatically saves your document when you make changes to it.
  5. Once you are done, click End Co-authoring to close the editor.
    In M-Files Web, this command is called Save and return to M-Files.
  6. To end co-authoring, right-click the object in M-Files Desktop or the classic M-Files Web and select Check In in the context menu.
    The user who checks out the document for co-authoring must be the one who also checks it in. The changes made during co-authoring are attributed to the user who checked out the document for co-authoring and checked in the new version.
    You can reject the changes made in co-authoring by right-clicking the object and selecting Undo Checkout from the context menu.
The changes made by you and anyone else during co-authoring are saved to M-Files, unless you selected Undo Checkout instead of checking in the document.

Participating in Co-Authoring

When a document has been checked for co-authoring, you can take part in the authoring process by doing the following steps:
  1. Locate the co-authored document in M-Files Desktop or the classic M-Files Web and double-click it to open it in the co-authoring mode.
    A co-authored document is marked with a yellow icon containing a white checkmark.
    Result:A dialog about editing the document in the co-authoring or opening it in read-only mode is opened.
  2. Select Edit (Co-authoring).
    Result:The document is opened in Microsoft Office for the web.


    Tip: If you are using Google Chrome and the browser cannot complete loading the editor, check whether the address bar contains an icon informing the user about a blocked redirection. If it does, go ahead and click it, and allow the redirection to be carried out. Finally, close the browser window or tab and double-click the document in M-Files to reopen the editor.
  3. Edit the document in the browser.
    Microsoft Office automatically saves your document when you make changes to it.
  4. Once you are done, click End Co-authoring to close the editor.
    In M-Files Web, this command is called Save and return to M-Files.
The changes you made to the document are saved to M-Files once the user who started the co-authoring has ended the co-authoring and checked in the document.