Keep collaborative master documents safe
Let’s take a look at how users can check in and check out files in the M-Files interface, thereby preventing unintentional loss of document edits among multiple users.
When you check out items in M-Files document management software, their icons in the interface will change. A red “minus sign” indicates that another user has that item checked out and it is now only available in read-only mode. A green check mark indicates a file that you have checked out and available for modification.
By highlighting lines in the file listing, you can see the details of the document status in the light blue Properties pane in the lower portion of the window below:
As shown in the figure below, if you right click on a master file, you can see a menu of commands. If the file is available you can check it out and M-Files, prevents others from working on it at the same time.
While you are working on checked out files, other users will have read-only permissions; if they try to check it out, they receive the following message:
Check-in/check-out procedures are just one part of M-Files content control. These simple protections solve one of the most common problems with shared files in the Windows environment. Find out more about version control in the M-Files document manager.
Latest posts by M-Files (see all)
- Automatic Permissions: Stay Secure, Manage Access and Keep it Simple with M-Files - October 10, 2013
- M-Files Video Shows How to Save Time by Using Document Templates - October 5, 2013
- Want to Learn About a Superior Approach for Sharing Documents? Watch the New M-Files Video! - September 27, 2013